top of page

Happy New Year Anti-Resolution Revolution

Children's author Julie Hedlund, challenged participants of her 12 Days of Christmas for Writers series to post SUCCESSES (rather than resolutions) on our blogs this year.

She believes the way New Year's resolutions are traditionally made come from a place of negativity - what DIDN'T get done or achieved in the previous year.

Instead, she suggests we set goals for the New Year that BUILD on our achievements from the previous one. I decided to participate in this Anti-Resolution Revolution!

Here is my list for 2014:

  1. Participated in ReViMo -- Hosted by Meg Miller.

  2. Joined 12x12 -- Hosted by Julie Hedlund.

  3. Submitted two manuscripts to the Highlight's Holiday Competition.

  4. Joined an online critique group. (You, ladies, are the best.)

  5. Learned how to give and receive critiques.

  6. Wrote 12 picture book manuscripts.

  7. Revised countless times.

  8. Worked with diligence on edits for my chapter book manuscript.

  9. Attended two SCBWI MD/DE/WV conferences.

  10. Entered Susanna Leonard Hill's Spring, Halloween, and Holiday Writing competitions. Received an Honorable Mention for my Halloween submission.

  11. As a prior winner of the Jack Reid Memorial Scholarship competition for a work in progress, participated in a selection committee for this year's winners.

  12. Submitted my chapter book for a 10 page critique with publisher at Fall SCBWI conference.

  13. Submitted 12 completed manuscripts to several editors/agents.

  14. Joined Facebook and several Facebook writer's groups.

  15. Further developed an online presence with Twitter, Google+, LinkedIn and Pinterest.

  16. Revised my author/illustrator website.

  17. Wrote my first ever blog for 12x12.

  18. Developed a blog for my writing site and my behavioral health business.

  19. Created a website for my behavioral health business.

  20. Received two 2's on manuscripts submitted to Rate Your Story.

  21. Attended the Nerdy Chicks Summer School with hosts Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen and Kami Kinard.

  22. Began drawing again.

  23. Joined online illustrator's groups -- Doodle Day and DOT Challenge.

  24. Bought some better pencils and my favorite gum eraser.

  25. Submitted two illustrations to the Doodler's Anonymous coloring page competition.

  26. Participated for the second year in PiBoIdMo and got my 30 ideas and a story.

  27. Joined the Monster Coloring Group, a group of 16 artists under the direction of Jennyann Carthern.

  28. Completed one monster coloring image for inclusion in the Monster Chores Coloring Book.

  29. Completed interview for March 2015 Artist (that would be me) Spotlight Blog for Jennyann.

  30. Hatched a plan to create the #ChristmasColoringCountdown.

  31. Completed and posted 24 Christmas coloring images, one per day for each day of advent.

  32. Created a Creature, Jasmine the Vine Fairy, for KidLit Creature Week 2015.

  33. Learned the difference between dpi and ppi.

  34. Signed up for Rate Your Story membership and ReViMo 2015.

  35. Oh, and I turned 50, cleaned out the kitchen cupboard, planted a garden, bought equipment to expand my fish pond, started playing racketball again, enjoyed the happenings of my two children (including the Citadel, an engagement, the buying of a house, the start of a menagerie...)........

I think that's a pretty good list. Now, I am ready to see where I can continue or improve upon what I have accomplished. Afterall, the pinnacle of success is only achieved by continuing one's forward progess.

Thank you Julie for the idea and inspiration. I hope some of the rest of you will take the opportunity to revolt. Happy New Year!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page